INSPIRE, The Future Award – the vision!

Visions, ideas and concepts that germinate at institutes of further education are often ahead of their time. Even if they cannot be implemented on a one-to-one basis, such projects and studies are exciting indicators of future development. At the Digital Economic Forum, we want to not only put the spotlight on already established achievers, but also give young, creative people with ideas whose disruptive impact cannot yet be gauged a chance to shine. INSPIRE, The Future Award aims to inspire business leaders and show them what the future may hold – while fostering an informal exchange of knowledge and ideas between the ‘new kids on the block’ and the ‘old hands’.

The award includes travels to Silicon Valley, the heart of digitalization, with visits to leading technology companies as well as cash prizes and other prizes. Presently ascertained for the 2016 edition is a trip to California and prize money of CHF 10’000. The goal is to provide further travels and additional prize money.

Who can take part?

Students of any subject who are currently completing a degree or graduated no more than two years ago and who are no older than 30 years of age. The submitted project (term or seminar paper, thesis, diploma thesis etc.) must meet the following criteria:

  1. The project must be completed as part of a degree and within the framework of a corresponding ‘free’ project (i.e. start-up projects and projects commissioned by a company are not allowed).  
  2. The project must contain aspects connecting to digitalization.   
  3. The project content must be innovative.

A potential realization of the submitted project is not a requirement, however the vision behind it is. This could be a technology, scientific discovery, service, business model, product, client experience or design.

What’s in it for me?

  • Six projects selected by an expert jury will be presented at the Digital Economic Forum (DEF). The project authors will be invited to the DEF.
  • The knowledgeable audience at the Digital Economic Forum will rate the projects online via an app.
  • INSPIRE, The Future Award, comes with trips to Silicon Valley and visits to cutting-edge technology companies.
  • Cash and non-cash prizes will also be awarded. (presently CHF 10’000)
  • An abstract of all projects that make the shortlist (between 20 and 30) will be published in the INSPIRE catalogue.  
  • The rights of the authors are protected in accordance with usual publications.
Your exciting new idea gets the chance to win a prize – you get the opportunity to establish valuable contacts with business leaders.

share with your friends

Jury

The submitted projects will be evaluated by the Digital Economic Forum in conjunction with BREAK / THROUGH Ventures. A set of binding criteria will determine which projects are included in a shortlist of 20 to 30 entries. A distinguished, international jury will select the six projects that will be presented and receive a prize at the Digital Economic Forum. The entire shortlist with abstracts will be published online at the Digital Economic Forum.

The jury panel, comprising experienced scientists and business managers is presently being assembled. The final panel will be published here.

INSPIRE, The Future Award - timeline

The application period for INSPIRE, The Future Award 2016 starts immediately. The registration deadline is 15 February 2016. INSPIRE, The Future Award will be presented to six jury-nominated winners on 27 April 2016 in Zurich.
  • 2/15/2016
    Closing date for applications
  • 3/7/2016
    Close of judging
  • 3/9/2016
    Winner notifications & invitationsr
  • 4/27/2016
    Award ceremony at Digital Economic Forum
  • 4/28/2016
    Award catalogue publication

FAQs

Isn’t there a risk that someone might steal my idea?

Projects are ensured the same copyright protection as those displayed at a graduation exhibition or in a publication. An astute business leader (and most of them are) would rather give the fisherman a great (job) offer than steal his fish and unleash a veritable ‘shitstorm’.

I’ve made an error in my online submission or forgotten to include an attachment. What do I do?

You’ll need to re-submit your project by sending it to the same email address. The newer version will replace the one you sent earlier.

Will I have to pay an entry fee to take part in INSPIRE, The Future Award?

No.

I cannot attend the award ceremony at the DEF on 27 April 2016. Can I still win?

No. A key objective of INSPIRE, The Future Award is the exchange of ideas and knowledge between the award winners and business leaders. There is no point in participating if you cannot come to Zurich on 27 April 2016. The six nominated winning entries will have their travel costs (within Europe) reimbursed.

Who can I contact if I have any further queries?

If you can’t find the information you need on INSPIRE, The Future Award on this website or via search engines, please get in touch at L_hc__murofcimonocelatigid--eripsni.

Apply now!

Be one of the first winners of INSPIRE, The Future Award. Complete the form and hit send!

read terms and conditions

INSPIRE, The Future Award

Visionen, Ideen und Konzepte, die an Hochschulen entstehen, sind oft ihrer Zeit voraus. Wenn auch nicht direkt umsetzbar, sind solche Projekte oder Studien spannende Indikatoren für künftige Entwicklungen. Am Digital Economic Forum wollen wir neben Persönlichkeiten, welche bereits viel erreicht haben, auch kreative junge Leute mit ihren Ideen auf die Bühne holen, deren disruptiver Impact noch gar nicht abschätzbar ist. INSPIRE, The Future Award soll Wirtschaftsführer inspirieren und ihnen sichtbar machen, was die Zukunft bereithalten könnte – umso den informellen Austausch zwischen "jungen Wilden und alten Hasen" zu fördern. Bewerben können sich Studierende aller Fachrichtungen, die jünger als 30jährig sind.

INSPIRE ist mit Reisen ins Silicon Valley, dem Herz der Digitalisierung, mit Besuchen bei führenden Technologie-Unternehmen, Barpreisen und weiteren Sachpreisen dotiert. Zur Zeit stehen für 2016 eine Kalifornienreise und Barpreise im Wert von CHF 10’000 zur Verfügung. Weitere Reisen und zusätzliche Bargewinne werden angestrebt und hier publiziert.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Studierende aller Fachrichtungen, die zurzeit studieren oder ihr Studium vor maximal zwei Jahren abgeschlossen haben und nicht älter als 30jährig sind. Die einzureichende Arbeit (Studienarbeit, Seminararbeit, Thesis, Abschluss-/Diplomarbeit, etc.) muss folgende Kriterien erfüllen:

Die Arbeit muss während des Studiums im Rahmen einer freien Arbeit entstanden sein (kein Start-up-Projekt und kein Auftrag eines Unternehmens).

  1. Die Arbeit muss Anknüpfungspunkte zur Digitalisierung haben.
  2. Der Inhalt soll innovativ sein.

Eine potentielle Realisierung des beworbenen Vorschlags ist keine Voraussetzung, sondern die Vision dahinter. Dabei kann es sich um eine Technologie, eine wissenschaftliche Erkenntnis, ein Service, ein Geschäftsmodell, ein Produkt, ein Kundenerlebnis oder ein Design handeln.

Was hast du davon?

  • Sechs von einer Fachjury ausgewählte Arbeiten werden am Digital Economic Forum (DEF) vorgestellt. Die Autoren werden ans DEF eingeladen.
  • Das fachkundige Publikum des Digital Economic Forums bewertet die Arbeiten online mit einer App.
  • INSPIRE, The Future Award ist mit Reisen ins Silicon Valley mit dem Besuch von massgebenden Technology Firmen dotiert.
  • Zusätzlich werden Arbeiten mit Barpreisen und weiteren Sachpreisen ausgezeichnet. (gegenwärtig CHF 10’000)
  • Sämtliche Arbeiten, die es auf die Shortlist (zwischen 20 und 30) schaffen, werden mit Abstract im INSPIRE-Katalog veröffentlicht.
  • Die Urheberrechte der Autoren sind gemäss üblichen Publikationen gewährleistet.

Du kannst also mit deiner spannenden Idee nicht nur einen Preis gewinnen, sondern auch wertvolle Kontakte zu Top-Shots in der Wirtschaft knüpfen.

share with your friends

Die Jury

Die eingereichten Arbeiten werden vom Digital Economic Forum in Zusammenarbeit mit BREAK / THROUGH Ventures beurteilt. Aufgrund von verbindlichen Kriterien wird über die Aufnahme in die Shortlist von 20 bis 30 Arbeiten entschieden. Eine hochkarätige, internationale Jury wählt daraus die sechs Projekte aus, die am Digital Economic Forum präsentiert und ausgezeichnet werden. Die gesamte Shortlist mit Abstracts wird am Digital Economic Forum online publiziert.

Die Jury aus erfahrenen Wissenschaftern und Wirtschaftsvertretern wird zurzeit zusammengestellt. Die Jury-Mitglieder werden zu gegebener Zeit hier vorgestellt.

INSPIRE, The Future Award - Timeline

Die Bewerbungsphase für INSPIRE, The Future Award 2016 beginnt ab sofort. Anmeldeschluss ist der 15. Februar 2016. INSPIRE, The Future Award wird am 27. April 2016 in Zürich an sechs durch eine Jury nominierte Gewinner vergeben.
  • 15.02.2016
    Anmeldeschluss
  • 07.03.2016
    Abschluss der Jurierung
  • 09.03.2016
    Benachrichtigung und Einladung der Gewinner
  • 27.04.2016
    Preisverleihung am Digital Economic Forum, Zürich
  • 28.04.2016
    Publikation des Award-Katalogs

FAQ's

Besteht nicht die Gefahr, dass jemand meine "Idee" klaut?

Der urheberrechtliche Schutz besteht gleichermassen, wie wenn die Arbeit in einer Diplomausstellung gezeigt wird oder irgendwo publiziert wird. Ein schlauer Wirtschaftsführer (und die meisten sind das) macht viel lieber dem Fischer ein gutes (Job-)Angebot, als ihm den Fisch zu klauen und damit einen Shitstorm auszulösen.

Ich habe einen Fehler bei der Online-Einreichung gemacht oder etwas vergessen anzuhängen. Wie kann ich das korrigieren?

Du musst das Projekt mit der gleichen Email-Adresse nochmals neu erfassen. Die neue Version ersetzt die vorherige.

Kostet die Teilnahme am INSPIRE, The Future Award etwas?

Nein.

Ich kann an der Award-Verleihung am 27. April 2016 am DEF nicht teilnehmen. Kann ich trotzdem gewinnen?

Nein. Ein massgebliches Ziel von INSPIRE, The Future Award ist ein Austausch zwischen den Award-Bewerbern und Wirtschaftsführern. Wenn du also am 27. April 2016 nicht nach Zürich kommen kannst, macht eine Teilnahme keinen Sinn. Die Reisekosten (aus Europa) werden den sechs nominierten Gewinnern selbstverständlich erstattet.

An wen kann ich mich wenden, wenn ich weitere Fragen habe?

Für Fragen zu INSPIRE, The Future Award, die diese Homepage oder Suchmaschinen nicht beantworten, kannst Du Dich an L_hc__murofcimonocelatigid--eripsni wenden.

Jetzt bewerben!

Gehöre zu den ersten Preisträgern des INSPIRE, The Future Award. Ausfüllen und abschicken!

Teilnahmebedingungen lesen